Windows Live Writer is an awesome tool that I use to write all of my blog posts. I am so used to it that I can’t imagine blogging without it, but I have also found ways to shoot myself in the foot with it. Here are two ways in which I managed to lose a nearly finished blog post:
- Live Writer clears its undo history when you switch between views. So, if you mess up your article in the HTML view, you won’t be able to revert the change when you notice the disaster after switching back into the Normal view.
- In the Preview view, Live Writer looks a lot like Internet Explorer. If you are not careful, it is not too hard to close Live Writer by accident. And, the confirmation dialog looks somewhat like IE’s closing dialog.
Thankfully, I found a way to recover Live Writer posts, and saved myself some wasted work.
Every time you switch Live Writer to the Preview or the Normal View, a copy of the post will be written as a HTML file into a temporary directory. On my machine, each snapshot is saved under C:\Users\Igor\AppData\Local\Temp\WindowsLiveWriter1286139640:
Sorting the snapshots by ‘Date modified’ column gives you the history of your edits, so long as you regularly switch between the different views in Live Writer.
With a bit of luck, you will find the right version of the lost article somewhere among the snapshots.